Planetizen - Urban Planning News, Jobs, and Education

Change Comes to Committee on Energy and Commerce

Representative Henry A. Waxman of California replaces the current chairman of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, who has served in the post since 1981. Waxman's nomination was applauded by environmental groups.
November 21, 2008, 5am PST | Tim Halbur
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

"Besides seating a committed environmentalist as head of the energy committee, the vote also removes one of the auto industry's best friends from a key leadership post - further evidence of how much power the American car-makers, whose executives have been pleading for federal money, have lost in Congress.

The vote on Thursday morning reportedly surprised some Dingell supporters, who had expected Mr. Dingell to prevail despite Wednesday's 25-to-22 vote by the Democrats' Steering and Policy Committee in favor of Mr. Waxman's challenge.

Mr. Dingell has been the top Democrat on the Energy and Commerce committee since 1981 and has been in Congress since 1955, having won his seat in a special election after his father died in office. In February, Mr. Dingell will become the longest-serving member in the history of the House."

Full Story:
Published on Thursday, November 20, 2008 in The New York Times
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email