Ohio Tax-Sharing Program Looks To Boost Regional Economy

<p>Representatives from seven Northeast Ohio counties are looking to form a regional partnership that would include tax-sharing, comprehensive regional planning and an equitable distribution of service and affordable housing.</p>
December 22, 2006, 11am PST | Nate Berg
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

"The association spans Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina and Summit counties. Representatives would seek support in their counties and take the proposals to voters or state legislators, if necessary."

"In addition to sharing taxes, Northeast Ohio should support regional planning and broad distribution of affordable housing, Orfield said. He said cities should work jointly to attract new biomedical development instead of pirating retail stores from each other."

"Tax sharing in Minneapolis-St. Paul, started years ago, helps the region keep taxes down and enjoy the fourth-highest median income in the country, Orfield said."

"Cities in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area share 40 percent of property taxes from development, but property taxes in Ohio go primarily to schools. Cuyahoga County cities have instead discussed sharing income taxes."

Full Story:
Published on Saturday, December 16, 2006 in The Plain Dealer
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email