Main Street Certifications

California Trade and Commerce program recognizes nine commuities with California Main Street certification.

Read Time: 1 minute

July 29, 2000, 7:30 AM PDT

By Chris Steins @urbaninsight

Nine California communities have earned California Main Street certification, joining a network of 29 cities, towns and communities actively working toward neighborhood or traditional commercial district revitalization, the California Trade and Commerce Agency announced today. The nine communities are: Canoga Park (Los Angeles), Davis, Oakland (Eastlake District), El Cajon, Oceanside, Pacoima (Los Angeles), Pleasanton, Salinas, and Vallejo. These communities have joined a network of 29 cities and towns working toward neighborhood or commercial district revitalization. Operating under the California Trade and Commerce Agency, the Main Street program provides assistance in the organization, promotion, design, and economic restructuring of towns and neighborhoods to enhance the economic, social, cultural and environmental aspects of California's commercial districts.

Thanks to Chris Steins

Wednesday, July 26, 2000 in California Trade and Commerce Agency


The Top Urban Planning Books of 2022

An annual list of the must-read books related to urban planning and its intersecting fields.

November 28, 2022 - James Brasuell


Anchorage Eliminates Parking Requirements Citywide

Anchorage is the latest city to enact sweeping parking reforms, in another blow to the car-centric status quo of planning.

November 23, 2022 - Anchorage Daily News

Urban separated bike lane with street trees on one side and cars parked on the other

How Urban Trees Save Lives

New research shows a strong connection between a healthy urban tree canopy and lowered mortality rates.

December 1, 2022 - Congress For New Urbanism

Rendering of Van Ness Avenue with Bus Rapid Transit

Some States Use More Highway Funding for Transit Than Others

A news study brings the receipts on state and regional transportation spending.

1 hour ago - TransitCenter

Station with rown of red Capital Bikeshare parked bikes on Washington, D.C. sidewalk

Bikeshare Ridership Up From Pre-Pandemic Levels

Shared micromobility, particularly docked bikeshare systems, are seeing record growth, but ‘scooter inflation’ may cool riders’ enthusiasm.

2 hours ago - Bloomberg CityLab

Metro Bus

Free Rides, Overnight Service Considered for Metro Transit in D.C.

Washington, D.C. councilmembers are making a bold commitment to public transit.

3 hours ago - The Washington Post

Urban Design for Planners 1: Software Tools

This six-course series explores essential urban design concepts using open source software and equips planners with the tools they need to participate fully in the urban design process.

Planning for Universal Design

Learn the tools for implementing Universal Design in planning regulations.