Planetizen - Urban Planning News, Jobs, and Education

8 Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated as UNESCO World Heritage Sites

If accepted as UNESCO World Heritage sites, the eight Frank Lloyd Wright buildings would be the first examples of modern architecture in the United States included in that august company.
December 27, 2018, 2pm PST | James Brasuell | @CasualBrasuell
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

"The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy nominated eight of Wright’s buildings to become a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2019," reports Liz Stinson. "Remarkably, Wright’s buildings are the first pieces of modern architecture to be submitted for the honor by the United States."

The collection of nominated buildings spans 50 years of the architect's career, explains Stinson, from the early 20th century to the 1950s. "The buildings were carefully chosen to highlight Wright’s architectural through-lines and show how his designs fundamentally shaped the landscape of American architecture."

Here are the FLW buildings included on the list of nominees:

  • Taliesin (Spring Green, Wisconsin)
  • Unity Temple (Oak Park, Illinois)
  • Frederick C. Robie House (Chicago)
  • Fallingwater (Mill Run, Pennsylvania)
  • The Hollyhock House (Los Angeles)
  • Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • Taliesin West (Scottsdale, Arizona)
  • The Guggenheim Museum (New York City)
Full Story:
Published on Wednesday, December 26, 2018 in Curbed
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email