Labeling Architectural Styles For Historic Preservation

As thousands of postwar buildings are becoming eligible under historic preservation laws, preservations search for labels to classify architectural styles.
November 1, 2001, 11am PST | Abhijeet Chavan | @legalaidtech
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

"Most state preservation laws apply only to buildings at least 50 years old, which means thousands of postwar buildings are now becoming eligible. Eighteenth- and 19th-century buildings tend to fall into categories that reek of historical significance: Gothic, Romanesque, Georgian. But the category most late-20th-century buildings seem to fall into is 'other.'"

Thanks to Abhijeet Chavan

Full Story:
Published on Thursday, November 1, 2001 in The New York Times
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email