Planetizen - Urban Planning News, Jobs, and Education

Call for Nominations for the 2019 ACHP/HUD Secretary's Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation

HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research
Tuesday, April 30, 2019

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), in partnership with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP), is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 2019 ACHP/HUD Secretary's Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation. 

The award will recognize developers, organizations, and agencies that successfully advanced the goals of historic preservation while providing affordable housing and/or expanding economic opportunities for low- and moderate-income families and individuals. Additionally, nominated projects or activities will be judged on how well they preserved, rehabilitated, restored, and/or interpreted our architectural and cultural heritage. 

Eligible projects must:

  • Promote the use of historic buildings for affordable housing, community development, and/or expanded economic opportunities.
  • Include HUD funds or financing.
  • Meet preservation guidelines.
  • Contribute to local and/or tribal community revitalization efforts.

Projects or activities must have been completed or have made substantial achievements within the last three years to be eligible. Submissions are required to meet the preservation guidelines of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation and must have undergone Section 106 review. A full list of nomination requirements and additional information can be found in the award brochure.

Nominations must be completed electronically as a Word document and submitted following the instructions provided here. All nominations are due by 11:59pm PDT on April 30, 2019.

The recipient of the 2019 ACHP/HUD Secretary's Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation will be notified by late September, and the award will be presented at a ceremony held in conjunction with the fall 2019 ACHP business meeting. Previous award winners can be found by visiting the HUD User portal and are listed under Secretary’s Awards.

Don't miss this exciting opportunity to highlight achievements in historic preservation in your community!

Published on:
March 26, 2019 - 1:19pm
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email