Planetizen - Urban Planning News, Jobs, and Education

AIA Announces 2013 Honor Award Winners

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced this year's winners of the prestigious Honor Awards - "the profession’s highest recognition of works that exemplify excellence in architecture, interior architecture and urban design."
January 15, 2013, 6am PST | Jonathan Nettler | @nettsj
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

Out of over 700 total submissions, juries headed by Mary Katherine (Mary Kay) Lanzillotta, FAIA, Andrew Wells, FAIA, and Mark Shapiro, AIA, have selected the 28 recipients of the Institute Honor Awards in Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Urban Design.

Winners in the Architecture category include the Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia, by Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects, Lee Hall College of Architecture at Clemson University by Thomas Phifer and Partners, and the Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility in Goshen, Kentucky by De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop. Winners in the Regional & Urban Design category include the Burnham Place at Union Station Master Plan in Washington, D.C. by Shalom Baranes Associates, PC HOK, the Parkmerced Vision Plan in San Francisco by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, and Superkilen in Copenhagen, Denmark by Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG).

The AIA had previously announced that the AIA Gold Medal, "the highest honor that the American Institute of Architects can bestow on an individual," was awarded to Thom Mayne, FAIA and that Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects "were honored with the AIA's highest award given to architecture firms," the Architecture Firm Award.

Share Tweet LinkedIn Email