2012 Charter Awards Recipients Announced

The Congress for the New Urbanism has announced this year's 9 recipients and 4 honorable mentions recognized by its 2012 Charter Awards.
March 22, 2012, 1pm PDT | Jonathan Nettler | @nettsj
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

According to Robert Steuteville, "The Charter Awards are the only design awards that combine architecture, landscape design, planning, and urban design at all scales, from the building to neighborhood, and city to region."

This year's winners, from locations around the world, "represent many design challenges taken on by urbanists, including agrarian urbanism, public housing redevelopment, fitting big box stores downtown, revitalization of suburban and urban neighborhoods, civic architecture that enhances the street, and much more," writes Steuteville.

The Grand Prize went to Verkykerskop, "a small-scale agricultural town" in Free State Province, South Africa, designed by Gary White & Associates and noted as the first "socio-economically inclusive town to be established in a significant post-apartheid rebuilding effort."

Also receiving awards were the design for The New Wyvernwood, a mixed-use community in the Boyle Heights neighborhood of Los Angeles, by Torti, Gallas and Partners; a new public library for Cambridge, Massachusetts, designed by William Rawn Associates with Ann Beha Architects; and The New Faubourg Lafitte in New Orleans, by Urban Design Associates.

Full Story:
Published on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 in Better Cities & Towns
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email