AIA Gold Medal Goes to the Dynamic Duo of Venturi and Scott Brown

The 2016 Gold Medal is considered a rebuttal to the Pritzker Prize, which neglected to acknowledge Denise Scott Brown when it awarded Robert Venturi in 1991.
December 4, 2015, 2pm PST | James Brasuell | @CasualBrasuell
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email Comments

Blair Kamin writes:

"The American Institute of Architects has named Denise Scott Brown and Robert Venturi the recipients of its 2016 Gold Medal, an honor that makes a statement about the role of women in design and takes a subtle shot at the field's highest award, the Pritzker Architecture Prize."

The AIA credited the Philadelphia-based architects with a "challenge to orthodox modernism" and inspiring a generation of architects. The pair, according to Kamin, are the first duo to receive the award, after the organization changed its bylaws in 2013.

According to Kamin, "[t]he award caps a controversy that began in 2013. In a speech, Scott Brown asked the Pritzker jury to retroactively recognize her for work that the jury honored in 1991 when it awarded the prize solely to Venturi, her design partner and husband."

The article includes a lot more information about the career of Scott Brown and Venturi, as well as more of the backstory on the groundswell of support for Denise Scott Brown to receive recognition for her accomplishments.

Full Story:
Published on Thursday, December 3, 2015 in Chicago Tribune
Share Tweet LinkedIn Email